Category Archives: Uncategorized

Medieval Round Table: The Nature of Extraction in Preindustrial Europe

Guy Geltner will be presenting at The University of Melbourne’s Medieval Round Table discussion group on 6 February 2023. The Round Table is an informal forum that meets monthly, usually on the first Monday of the month, to discuss works … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Virtual Book Launch: Death and Disease in the Medieval and Early Modern World

13 January 2023, 12pm EST/ 6pm CET/ 10.30pm IST/ 4am + 1 AEDT Online, zoom Begin the new year with a virtual book launch for the fourth title in the “Health and Healing in the Middle Ages” series by publishers … Continue reading

Posted in Announcements, Events, Uncategorized | Comments Off on Virtual Book Launch: Death and Disease in the Medieval and Early Modern World

New Article: Public Works, Spatial Strategies, and Mobility in Late Medieval Ghent

Coomans, J., & Hermenault, L. (2022). Public Works, Spatial Strategies, and Mobility in Late Medieval Ghent. Journal of Urban History This article argues that medieval urban authorities developed nodal spatial strategies to mitigate various risks—from accidents, floods, and military vulnerability … Continue reading

Posted in Publications, Uncategorized | Comments Off on New Article: Public Works, Spatial Strategies, and Mobility in Late Medieval Ghent

The dynamics of healthscaping: Mapping communal hygiene in Bologna, 1287–1383

Taylor Zaneri & G. Geltner Abstract: This article traces how urban communities operating with a humoral or Galenic medical paradigm understood and confronted the health challenges facing them, using the extraordinarily well-documented case of Bologna, Italy. Working within a GIS environment, … Continue reading

Posted in Publications, Uncategorized | Comments Off on The dynamics of healthscaping: Mapping communal hygiene in Bologna, 1287–1383